I have seen a variation of this recipe going around for a while now. It uses nutritional yeast to make the kale taste cheesy. After scouring for what looked like the perfect recipe for me (that I never found), I decided to combine a few common ingredients I saw, plus added my own and I’m sure glad I did! These were delicious. So, so good! I made these in my dehydrator so it was no fuss. Only a few left, definitely making more soon 🙂

20140116-141259.jpg
1⃣Soak 1c raw cashews for a few hours ahead of time
2⃣Cut 1 large bunch of kale into large chunks being sure to remove the stem
3⃣Wash and spin dry then lay out on a towel to dry
4⃣When the cashews are done soaking, drain and rinse them, then place them in a blender
5⃣To the blender with the cashews, add in:
🔹1/2 red bell pepper, cleaned and seeds/ribs removed
🔹1/4c melted coconut oil
🔹1/2c nutritional yeast
🔹few shakes of hot sauce (1t)
🔹1 garlic clove, chopped
🔹juice of half a lemon
🔹few shakes of coconut aminos (1-2T)
🔹optional-salt to taste
🔹optional-pitted date for a little sweetness (I did not add this in though, but thought it could be a nice touch if you desired)
6⃣Blend until smooth and creamy, taste to see if anything needs adjusting
7⃣Place dried kale in a bowl and pour sauce over top, mix kale/sauce with your hands until each piece is coated then place on your dehydrator trays and dehydrate on 135F for 3-6 hours. Test toward then end to make sure they are crispy.

