Carrot cake is one of my all time favorite pies. I loved making it when I was younger and licking the bowl clean (which I do not advise, of course)! I set out on a quest to make a healthier version with protein. This is what I came up with and it was perfect. My husband and I enjoyed it warm after dinner and enjoyed the leftovers cold the next day on a road trip. Both were delicious!

20130805-105057.jpg
Protein Carrot Cake
1⃣Combine in a food processor:
🔹1 large sweet potato (cooked and peeled)
🔹1/4c applesauce
🔹1t vanilla extract
🔹1/2t cinnamon
🔹1t baking powder
🔹1 scoop vanilla whey
🔹1 scoop vanilla sun warrior
🔹1/4c whole wheat flour (or flour of choice)
🔹1 egg+1 egg white
🔹1/4c oats
🔹2T stevia
🔹2T xylitol brown sugar blend (optional)
2⃣Add in and pulse to combine:
🔹1 large carrot (peeled and shredded)
🔹2/3c crushed pineapple (not drained)
3⃣Pour into greased 8×8 pan at 350F for 40 min

Cream cheese protein frosting
1⃣Heat in microwave:
🔹2 triangles of laughing cow cream cheese
🔹4oz vanilla greek yogurt
🔹1T coconut butter
🔹1/2t imitation butter extract
🔹1/2t vanilla extract
🔹1/2t stevia
2⃣Stir in 1/2 scoop of vanilla protein powder and spread on baked and cooled carrot cake

